Happy Birthday!

I don’t know about you but I’m feeling… 

25!

You heard that right. Today’s my 25th birthday: my Quarter Life Crisis year. 

Last year, when I made my birthday message to people who actually remembered and did greet me, I said that I’m one year closer to my quarter life crisis. Sa tingin ko, nagkatotoo nga yung sinabi ko.

Although I’m pretty much content with my life right now, I just feel like I’m having this indescribable feeling inside of me. First, I quit my job as an IT Instructor. Second, I’m having vacations I couldn’t really afford. Third, I’m impulse buying things I don’t really need. Fourth, I’m constantly lazy when I’m at home. Fifth, I’m having bike rides in the middle of the night which is weird.

But I’m not here to talk about that, I’m here to talk about how I celebrated my birthday. Let’s talk about the fun of turning 25. The celebration I mean.

My birthday fell on a Wednesday. And since I’m a long time Taylor Swift stan, my plan is for me to have my “on a Wednesday in a cafe, I watched it begin again” moment. I just want to spend my day on a cafe, order Caramel Macchiato and a slice of Carrot Cake, sit by the window, and read my copy of The Tales of Beedle The Bard. Yes, a Swiftie and a Potterhead celebration. That was the original plan.

Then all of a sudden, my close friend greeted me. And since we are close, I actually entertained the idea of tagging him along with me as I celebrate my special day. I contemplated for a few moments and then decided to ask him if he’s available. In my mind, I wanted for him to decline so that I could have my celebration using my original plan but he didn’t so I just created another plan. We’ll just watch a movie and eat at any fast food restaurant. Simple as that. We then set our celebration at around 3 pm.

By 1 pm, I decided to go to the mall so that I could look for second hand books at Booksale. I love going to Booksale because sometimes I find books that are actually in pristine condition for a fraction of the original price.

By 2 pm, he said that he already arrived at the mall so I decided that we have an early meryenda. We ate then proceeded to the cinemas. We decided to watch X – men Apocalypse since it’s the first day of showing of the said film. The theater was packed with enthusiastic fans of the franchise and by bandwagoners who don’t know anything about the film and it’s predecessors.

After watching the movie for two and a half hours, since we still have the time, we decided to go to the tiangge at the City Proper. We window shopped and shared some stories along the way. It was fun. Then we went home afterwards.

It was an exhausting day for me but I had fun. I may not have my “Swiftie and Potterhead” celebration but it was still a good day. Maybe I’ll have that kind of celebration the next time my birthday falls on a Wednesday. Until then, I’ll wait but for now I’ll just sing 22 by Taylor Swift.

Everything’s gonna be alright if we just keep dancing like we’re… 

25!

Leave a Reply

