Earworm

They say that you can tell a lot about a person by the songs he listens to. You see, songs encapsulate a human experience. It can be about heartbreak, loss of a loved one, an unrequited love, turning a new page, overcoming an obstacle, living life to the fullest or just chilling out by the beach sipping Margarita. Songs tell a story and people tend to listen to songs they can relate to.

I for one love to listen to songs from the moment I wake up to when it’s time to sleep. During times of stress, I also turn to music to calm me down. Music is such a big part of my life that sometimes, I associate people to songs. I know that’s weird. Specific moments or occasions of my life are also associated to some songs. Para every time na papakinggan ko ang isang kanta, naaalala ko kung gaano ako kasaya or kalungkot noong mga panahon na iyon.

Back when I was young, when my mother had her caucuses, I tend to provide the intermission. I sing for the audience. It was the earliest memory I have to loving songs. Siyempre bata pa ako noon kaya maganda pa ang boses ko. Dati kaya kong kumanta ng Regine Velasquez songs. Ganun kataas ang boses ko. But I stopped. Suddenly I don’t want to sing anymore. I grew up, my voice changed and I don’t have the self – confidence to sing. Kaya nakikinig na lang ako ngayon.

Music influenced me in a lot of ways. It was a part of my life before and now more than ever. And the songs I listen to describe the way I see myself, people, and the world.

Aminado ako na during my high school to early college years, I was part of the emo movement. Noong high school pa ako, buhay na buhay ang OPM. When you open the radio, they play OPM songs in succession. Hindi ka magsasawa kasi magaganda ang mga kantang OPM na naproduce noong period na yun. Iyon din yung panahon na nagboom ang mga banda. Mga kanta ng Sponge Cola, Cueshe, Hale, at Rivermaya ang kadalasang tinutugtog ng mga classmates kong marunong maggitara at kumanta. Maliban sa mga OPM love songs noon, may mga banda din from the other countries na sumikat. Natatandaan ko pa yung Coldplay, The All – American Rejects, The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, My Chemical Romance, The Click Five, at The Good Charlotte sa mga jamming ng barkada. Buhay na buhay ang rock, alternative, at emo movement noon.

Tanda ko pa na pineplay sa speakers ng school namin noong high school yung Move Along ng The All – American Rejects. Senior ako noon sa high school. It was a good memory. Nahilig din kami noon sa mga kanta ng MYMP. Kapag may time, tinutugtog nila sa gitara yung Tell Me Where It Hurts. Naadik din kami sa mga kanta ni Kitchie Nadal. Pagsubok, Huwag Na Huwag Mong Sasabihin, Bulong, at Same Ground. Tugtugin din yan kapag may inuman.

Marami pa kaming mga kantang nahiligang pakinggan noon at karamihan doon ay tungkol sa pagkakaibigan, first love, at pag-overcome sa mga problema ng buhay. Punong – puno sa magagandang musika at memories ang high school days ko.

Noon namang college na, band songs pa rin ang nakahiligan ko. Pero doon ko rin unang minahal si Taylor Swift. May mahal na ako noon at si Avril Lavigne yun. Nasubaybayan ko pa nga yung The Best Damn Thing era niya eh. Lahat ng songs na nirelease niya, minemorize ko yun. Pero dumating din si Taylor. Naalala ko pa nga noon, akala ko eh lalaki siya. Unang kanta pa lang na narinig ko mula sa kanya, minahal ko na siya. Teardrops On My Guitar yun and I instantly loved her.

Until now, I still stan for Taylor. But aside from her, now, I listen to mostly indie pop, alternative pop, or synth pop. Pero siyempre, hindi pa rin maiiwasan yung mga mainstream pop songs na overplayed na sa radio.

Recently, I discovered Broods. I became a fan because of their album Conscious. It’s full of great songs such as Heartlines, We Had Everything, Worth The Fight, and Couldn’t Believe. They are from New Zealand also just like Lorde which I also love listening to. I love Pure Heroine and I am currently waiting for Lorde’s follow – up album. I love Ribs, 400 Lux, Team, and A World Alone.

I also like Troye Sivan. His debut album chronicles the life of now so well. It’s about life as experienced by a teenager. Ease, Lost Boy, Suburbia, and Blue are standouts. I also like Borns. His songs are so unique yet relatable. I always love listening to 10,000 Emerald Pools and American Money. Past Lives and Electric Love are good songs also. Sometimes, I also listen to Halsey. Her songs Drive and Colors are her best.

But Taylor Swift is still my true love. For me, her best work is Red. It totally captured the emotions of a tumultuous relationship. I love Treacherous, Holy Ground, and the forever in my heart All Too Well. I will never ever ever forget the song that tells us to move on, Begin Again. Red is full of Taylor’s highs when it comes to songwriting and it was released during the time of struggle for me so it has a very special place in my heart. I also love Speak Now and 1989. Her song Enchanted and Last Kiss are highlights of the former while Blank Space, Out Of The Woods, and Wildest Dreams are the latter’s.

I listen to a lot of artists but the songs I listen to mostly are sentimental in nature. I love nostalgic songs. I want the preemptive-nostalgia-for-the-present type of songs. I love living in the moment and when I look back, I love to always remember things. In hindsight it’s always in 20/20 and I love songs that take me back to the past clearly.

I love listening to both OPM and international songs. They’re both beautiful to my ears. But my ears have a specific type: songs that are sentimental. I guess since I listen to sentimental songs, I can be described of as a sentimental person which I am okay with. I love listening to songs which has substance and can make me feel things. I am also an emotional person so I love emotional songs. In the end for me, it doesn’t matter who the artist is, what matters is the song’s content.

Leave a Reply

