Still Not A Writer

Although I love to write about my life experiences, and share them to the world, I always remind myself that I am not a writer. I am not an author, or whatever you call someone who writes for a living or even just for fun. I just love to write.

You know why I don’t want to be called a writer or an author? It’s because I put writers and authors on a pedestal. A very high pedestal. J. K. Rowling? C. S. Lewis? J. R. R. Tolkien? These are some of the most recognized authors out there right now, and they are literary heroes to me. They’ve crafted these amazing worlds rich with characters that readers can identify with, and stories that readers can relate to.

The bar has been set so high by these amazing authors that I don’t know if I wanted to be called one until I could come up with an output as creative as theirs. Harry Potter is still popular to today’s readers. Lord of the Rings, and The Hobbit are still relevant to the academe. The Chronicles of Narnia’s subject is still being discussed until now. Truly, the works of these intelligent, and inventive authors stood the test of time. And I don’t know if I could ever achieve that.  To be an author is truly an honor.

But now, I’ll just keep writing, and writing until I’m confident enough to find my voice. Writing is an enjoyable task for me. I don’t want it to become something I must do but something I would want to do. I always have ideas about novels that people would enjoy reading. Maybe someday, I would find the voice, and courage to translate those ideas into words, sentences, paragraphs, and then finally, a chapter. And maybe someday, I would finally have the courage to call myself an author.

Leave a Reply

