Spelling Enthusiast, Part III

During my elementary days, I remember clearly how I would be trained by my teachers to compete for these scholastic events such as quiz bees, and spelling contests. I remember also how lazy I was back then, and how I would find a way to not be part of the competing team. This story is about how I tried to escape the spelling practices because they are in conflict with my after – school activities.

I was in second grade then, and I very much enjoy playing with my classmates in the school playground games such as piko, habulan, langit – lupa, luksong – baka, patintero,  taguan, tumbang – preso, and other games that would use all the energy inside your body. Name it, we played it. I’m so happy I got to experience such games before the electronic games took over. It was a fun childhood.

Whenever we would have our practice, I would constantly spell the words incorrectly in hope that I would get eliminated from the team. Looking back, I would constantly sabotage my academics just to experience a little fun. But, it was worth it. Mind you, we only spelt basic words such as “bottle” but I would spell that as “bobtle.” I don’t know to this day if my adviser ever did suspect me if I intentionally misspelt these words.

Going back to my love for spelling, the list of words I have here is a continuation of my last post about spelling. This list is comprised of words that originated from different countries around the globe. These words, I hope, would give you a glimpse of the cultures they come from, and I do hope also that these words would expand your very own vocabulary.

POILU
Pronunciation: \pwäl-ˈyü, pwä-ˈlü; ˈpwäl-ˌyü, ˈpwä-ˌlü; pwä-ˈlue\
Noun: A French soldier; especially: a front-line soldier in World War I.

PROSCIUTTO
Pronunciation: /prəˈSHo͞odō/
Noun: Italian ham cured by drying and typically served in very thin slices.

PSCHENT
Pronunciation: [skent, pskent]
Noun: The double crown worn by ancient Egyptian kings, symbolic of dominion over Upper and Lower Egypt, which had previously been separate kingdoms.

QAWWALI
Pronunciation: [kuh-wah-lee]
Noun: A style of Sufi devotional music marked by rhythmic improvisatory repetition of a short phrase, intended to rouse participants to a state of mystical ecstasy.

QUIPU
Pronunciation: \ˈkē-(ˌ)pü\
Noun: A device made of a main cord with smaller varicolored cords attached and knotted and used by the ancient Peruvians (as for calculating).

RIJSTTAFEL
Pronunciation: rīs.tä.fəl
Noun: An Indonesian rice dish.

SAUK
Pronunciation: \ˈsȯk\
Noun: A member of an American Indian people formerly living in what is now Wisconsin.

SCHOTTISCHE
Pronunciation: [shot-ish]
Noun: A round dance resembling the polka.

SJAMBOK
Pronunciation: /SHamˈbäk/
Noun: In South Africa, a long, stiff whip, originally made of rhinoceros hide.

SYCE
Pronunciation: \ˈsīs\
Noun: An attendant (as a groom) especially in India.

TRATTORIA
Pronunciation: \ˌträ-tə-ˈrē-ə\
Noun: Restaurant; specifically: a usually small Italian restaurant.

TAOISEACH
Pronunciation: /ˈtiːʃəx, ˈtiːsʲəx/
Noun: The Prime Minister of the Republic of Ireland.

URSPRACHE
Pronunciation: [oo r-shprah-khuh]
Noun: A hypothetically reconstructed parent language, as Proto – Germanic, the ancestor of the Germanic languages.

WITLOOF
Pronunciation: \ˈwit-ˌlōf, -ˌlüf\
Noun: Chicory; also: Belgian endive.

Leave a Reply

