Spelling Enthusiast, Part V

In my past posts about my love for words, and spelling, I have shared to you how I grew up as someone who’s engrossed or enamored with academics, how I would sometimes neglect that part of me in exchange for fun, how food plays a part in spelling, or how I’m just a nerd. Competing for three years in Academic Quiz Bees, and coaching the new breed of quizzers, there are words that never fail to come up during these competitions.

As I have told you before, I have consolidated some words we often encounter in Spelling Bees to come up with a bible that acts as our very own reviewer. I’m not going to share all of them to you but this last post in my spelling series will tackle those words that always or almost always end up in the questionnaires. The ten words I included here are some I personally encountered when I competed before, or encountered during my coaching years.

BORBORYGMUS
Pronunciation: bȯr.bə.rig.məs
Noun: A rumbling of the intestines.

CAOUTCHOUC
Pronunciation: (kou ch k , -ch k )
Noun: An elastic material obtained from the latex sap of trees that can be vulcanized and finished into a variety of products.

CHAULMOOGRA
Pronunciation: \chȯl-ˈmü-grə\
Noun: Any of several East Indian trees (family Flacourtiaceae) that yield an acrid oil used especially formerly in treating leprosy and skin diseases.

CHENILE
Pronunciation: [shuh-neel]
Noun: A velvety cord or yarn of silk or worsted, for embroidery, fringes, etc.

KWASHIORKOR
Pronunciation: \ˌkwä-shē-ˈȯr-kər, -ȯr-ˈkȯr\
Noun: Severe malnutrition in infants and children especially of impoverished regions caused by a diet low in protein.

SCHADENFREUDE
Pronunciation: /ˈʃɑːd(ə)nˌfrɔɪdə, ˈʃɑːdənˌfrɔydə/
Noun: Pleasure derived by someone from another person’s misfortune.

TCHOTCHKE
Pronunciation: (ch ch k )
Noun: A knickknack, collectible, trinket, etc.

TROUSSEAU
Pronunciation: [troo-soh]
Noun: An outfit of clothing, household linen, etc., for a bride.

WELTANSCHAUUNG
Pronunciation: /ˈveltˌänˌSHouəNG/
Noun: (plural Weltanschauungen /-SHouəNGən/) A particular philosophy or view of life; the worldview of an individual or group.

ZUGZWANG
Pronunciation: [tsook-tsvahng]
Noun: A situation in chess in which a player is limited to moves that cost pieces or have a damaging positional effect.

Leave a Reply

