Patrochilles

It’s been more than a week ever since I finished reading The Song of Achilles and I can’t seem to get over it. I don’t know why but there’s something about that novel that got to me. Maybe it’s the hopeless romantic in me that got roused up by the love between Patroclus and Achilles that whenever I think about them, they give me the feels. I don’t know, it’s just that in the novel, they loved each other very much that even death can’t stand in their way. The ending killed me.

I titled this post Patrochilles because this post is dedicated to them. Their never ending love for each other really made me a fan. Now, they’re my OTP. I ship them now.

In The Song of Achilles, Patroclus is not what his father wanted. He’s not princely, in form and in acts. So when he committed a crime, killed a boy because of a pair of dice, his father exiled him to live in another kingdom. That’s where he met Achilles. But that’s not the first time he saw Achilles actually. When their kingdom hosted an Olympic – like competition, that’s when Patroclus first saw Achilles as the latter was competing in the said games. Patroclus took notice of Achilles because the latter stood out amongst the crowd with his golden hair and pink heels. He was kind of envious when he saw Achilles because to him, that is what a prince should look and act or be like.  Taylor Swift’s Love Story starts playing: “We were both young when I first saw you…

BRYmLQ_jfui

A modern hipster Patrochilles from spooky.tsukki.

Fast forward to being exiled, the first time they met in Phthia, Patroclus hated Achilles. To him, they should be treated as equals but he is also aware of what he’s done to deserve such punishment. So, he hated him until one day when he didn’t attend his spear training. Achilles looked for him, and when he was found, he was warned that King Peleus will punish him for not doing his duties. That’s when Patroclus asked Achilles to lie for him. He asserted himself in front of Achilles, the first time he actually showed any personality. And that’s when it all began. Achilles made Patroclus his Therapon.

They grew up together. They did things together. They spent afternoons in the olive grove. They trained with Chiron in Mount Pelion together. They ate figs. Nothing stood between their love for each other and not even Thetis, the sea nymph mother of Achilles. When she hid Achilles in Scyros, Patroclus looked for him. Achilles even fought his very own mother a hundred times just to be with Patroclus. They fought in Troy side by side. They took care of war prizes during the never ending battle of Troy. Patroclus loved him and Achilles returned this love without any reservations. No opinions matter except theirs about their love, and to me, that’s beautiful. They’re each other’s Philtatos.

So to ease my withdrawal from the drug called Patrochilles, I am sharing to you some songs that embody the spirit of the novel, and perfectly capture the essence of the love between these two beloved characters. I included some lyrics, and explanation for some to give you context as to why these songs are perfect to listen to when you want to have your Patrochilles fix.

 

These artworks from lilyevanslovesyou are really cool. Check them out!

1. Flaws by Bastille:

“You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve/And I have always buried them deep beneath the ground”

This song is a favorite of mine. Both Achilles and Patroclus are flawed characters but they have different ways of dealing with them. Achilles wears his like a trophy for everyone to see while Patroclus is afraid to show them because he’s afraid of what others will think of him. Different as they may be in dealing with their own flaws, they still complement each other.

2. Riptide by Vance Joy:

“I wanna be your left hand man”

3. King and Lionheart by Of Monsters And Men:

“And as the world comes to an end/I’ll be here to hold your hand/Cause you’re my king and I’m your lionheart”

Patroclus’ loyalty to Achilles even when it’s hard for him to be so is what makes him a great character. For Patroclus, there is nothing he wouldn’t do for Achilles. He is his servant, in life and in death. He would be there for him when no one else would, and would understand him when it’s hard for anyone to. He is his person.

4. The End of All Things by Panic! at the Disco:

“Lay us down/We’re in love”

5. Skulls by Bastille:

“When our lives are over and all that remains/Are our skulls and bones let’s take it to the grave/And hold me in your arms, hold me in your arms/I’ll be buried here with you/And I’ll hold in these hands all that remains”

This whole song bleeds Patrochilles all over. Every line is a perfect representation of their relationship. This particular lyric perfectly summarize their whole rapport: “I don’t want to rest in peace/I’d rather be the ghost that annoys you/I hope you can make me laugh/Six feet down when we’re bored of each other.” You can actually imagine how they are after being reunited in the afterworld. How Achilles missed Patroclus. How Patroclus apologized to Achilles for not doing what he was told to do. How Patroclus apologized for this death that gave Achilles so much grief.

6. Young God by Halsey:

“You know the two of us are just young gods”

7. Samson by Regina Spektor:

“You are my sweetest downfall/I loved you first”

Being each other’s weaknesses, they surely are their sweetest downfalls. This song tells the tragic story of Samson and Delilah but is still relevant to the theme of the novel. I love this song so much because it’s raw and emotional just like their love for one another.

8. Mountain Sound by Of Monsters And Men:

“Along we traveled on with nothing but a shadow/We fled far away”

9. Bloom by The Paper Kites:

“Oh, you fill my head with pieces/Of a song I can’t get out”

This song is specifically for Patroclus. He doesn’t know what Achilles has that had him smitten with him. For Patroclus, he’s going to continue loving Achilles until he allows him to. Until Achilles wants him to.

10. Silver Lining by Hurts:

“When the world surrounds you/I’ll make it go away/Paint the sky with silver lining/I will try to save you/Cover up the gray/With silver lining”

 

P. S. : If you really love Patrochilles, make sure to check out some amazing artworks on Instagram. Also, I created a playlist called Patrochilles on Spotify! Don’t forget to listen to these songs to show your Patrochilles love.

Leave a Reply

