Happy Mother’s Day

Today, we are celebrating Mother’s Day all over the world. On this day, we honor the most modern of all heroes, the woman who birthed us, and gave us life: our mothers.

There is nothing in this world that could come close to a mother’s love. She’s the light that guides us through the darkness of life. She’s the light that gives us hope when there’s none. She’s the light that brightens up even the darkest of days. She’s the modern day superhero that proves to us that everything can be done, and is possible if you just believe in yourself. She’s the pillar of strength that keeps the family from falling apart. She’s everything she is, and she’s very good at it.

A mother is not just a mother to her family. She’s the cook who magically conjures food for us when we’re hungry, or even when we don’t tell her we are, she just knows. She’s the doctor who always knows the exact medicine needed to cure any illness, and sometimes, that includes problems of the heart, too. She’s the carpenter who helps build these ridiculous school projects, and precious things we broke in our houses. She’s our best friend. She’s our enemy, sometimes. She’s our hero. She’s our very own Wonder Woman.

I love my mother very much. To me, she’s a role model. I grew up pretty much with my mother, and that’s why I’m a mama’s boy. She taught me a lot of things, and one of those things is public service. She loves to be of service to other people. She loves to help. She always lends a helping hand especially to those who have less, and who needs help. She taught me that being selfless is something you should be proud of because it’s a rare quality to possess these days. She taught me to never expect something in return when you show kindness to other people. Simple acts of kindness are enough to make a ripple effect in this world. Maybe these acts you selflessly give to the world will make it a much better place to live in in the future. She taught me to be kind, always. Or at least try to be. To be kind is not a weakness. Today, being kind can be attributed to being strong because not everyone can do it. She taught me how to keep my humanity in this world we are living in today. And I will always keep that in my heart, and mind. She’s always been there for me. She believed in me when no one else would. Even when I couldn’t. She’s the greatest human being in the world, and no one else comes close. No one else would ever come close to her. Like no one ever.

Happy Mother’s Day! Well, every day is a mother’s day if you think about it. We should always show our mothers how important they are to us because just like us, they grow up, too. Let’s show them that we very much appreciate their presence in our lives before it’s too late. That every gesture of love they show to us is valued.

Don’t forget to greet your nanay, mama, inay, ma, mudra, mommy, mum, inang, or madir a happy mother’s day!

Leave a Reply

