Birthday Playlist

You don’t really know a person unless you get to know the type of music they listen to. Their taste in music is a reflection of their personality, and it reveals who they really are, and their hidden desires. There’s more than what meets the eye. Music really is a window to one’s soul, and mind. And for my birthday this year, I am going to share the music that perfectly captures who I really am as a person. I’m going to let people have a taste of what it’s like being me.

Adulthood changed me. It changed how I see the world, and people in general. Before, I’m overly optimistic about everything. I believed that everything is going to work out in time. I was a dreamer. But now, I am very realistic when it comes to my expectations in life. Adulthood taught me about karma. Whatever you put out to the world, the world will give back to you. If you spread hate and negativity, that’s what you’ll get in return, too. The universe has a way of balancing things out, and that is karma. What goes around comes around.

Adulthood also changed how I view myself especially in the age of Social Media. Before, I post everything about me. Every action should be documented. It’s like living in this reality show that every like you get determines how popular and important you are in the eyes of others. In hindsight, that’s exhausting. But now, I consider myself as a private person. I only show people what I want people to see. I only share things about me that I want people to know. I like to be in control of my own image now. I run my own PR management team. It’s great to have that cloud of mystery about who you are in this age when privacy is like a privilege.

Of course, even though I control how I am perceived by people, I still consider myself as an open book. Sometimes, you can’t control what people say about you. People always talk. You can’t control that especially if they have their own prejudices. There are rumors that float around for everyone to gossip about. I don’t confirm nor deny them. I don’t post about or even acknowledge them. If you want to know my truth, just ask me. That’s how simple it is for me now, too. If you want to know me, then ask me. Only me. Not other people. Me. You should never judge me by the opinion of others because I don’t do that to other people, and I wish you do the same for me.

Music is one of the best things in life. I love to listen to music whenever possible. Using words and instruments, you got to tell a story may it be about love, loss, or just the simple things in life. Music is the luxury we never thought we needed. It’s just part of our lives. We even associate certain events in our lives to some songs. We even have soundtracks to tell the stories we couldn’t tell on our own using our own words. Music speaks to us, and they tell our stories. And now, using my favorite songs, I’m going to tell mine.

In this post on my birthday, I will share to you eighteen songs that could very much tell my story in the most beautiful way possible. These eighteen songs are very close to my heart so I hope you have the time to listen to them all so you could understand the person behind the name “Ronel.”

BDPL

Flaws by Bastille:
“You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve/And I have always buried them deep beneath the ground/Dig them up – let’s finish what we’ve started/Dig them up – so nothing’s left unturned”

10,000 Emerald Pools by Børns:
“Down to the bottom, 10,000 emerald pools/You’re all I need to breathe/I’ll dive in deeper, deeper for you/You’re all I need to breathe

A World Alone by Lorde:
We both got a million bad habits to kick/Not sleeping is one/We’re biting our nails, you’re biting my lip/I’m biting my tongue/But people are talking”

Waste by Foster The People:
“”How long?” I say, how long will you relive the things that are gone?/Oh yeah, The devil’s on your back but I know you can shake him off”

King and Lionheart by Of Monsters And Men:
“And as the world comes to an end/I’ll be here to hold your hand/Cause you’re my king and I’m your lionheart

High Hopes by Kodaline:
“And in my dreams I meet the ghosts of all the people who’ve come and gone/Memories they seem to show up so quick but they leave you far too soon

Skulls by Bastille:
“I don’t want to rest in peace/I’d rather be the ghost that annoys you/I hope you can make me laugh/Six feet down when we’re bored of each other”

Ghost by Halsey:
“My ghost, where’d you go?/What happened to the soul that you used to be?”

Colors by One Republic:
“I say, “I don’t wanna lay with another/We could feel this quiet with each other””

Favorite Record by Fall Out Boy:
“You were the song stuck in my head/Every song that I’ve ever loved/Play it again and again and again/And you can get what you want but it’s never enough/And I spin for you like your favorite records used to

Riptide by Vance Joy:
“I love you when you’re singing that song and/I got a lump in my throat cause/You’re gonna sing the words wrong

Just One by Blind Pilot:
“If I could’ve known then/We were dying to get gone/I can’t believe we get just one

The Only Exception by Paramore:
“And up until now/I had sworn to myself that I’m content/With loneliness/Because none of it was ever worth the risk

Moments by Tove Lo:
“I can get a little drunk, I get into all the don’ts/But on good days I am charming as fuck

Laughter Lines by Bastille:
“Crossing my heart and hope to die/I’ll see you with your laughter lines

The End of All Things by Panic! At The Disco:
“Lay us down/We’re in love

One Last Time by Jaymes Young:
“Could I feel your skin on mine/Before I have to say goodbye?/Could I breathe, please, one last time/You in my lungs, before I curl up and die?/Oh, my world is losing light”

‘Til Kingdom Come by Coldplay:
“For you I’d wait ’til kingdom come/Until my day, my day is done/And say you’ll come and set me free/Just say you’ll wait, you’ll wait for me”

Leave a Reply

