The Louvre

There’s something about Lorde’s Melodrama that I can’t put my finger on. It’s been three weeks since the album came out, been on – repeat since, and still, I can’t seem to get tired of it. It’s a great body of work with each song telling its part of a story to complete the loose narrative of a night out, the metaphor Lorde used for young adulthood, and the emotions associated with it. And as I was browsing YouTube for Lorde’s performances for her set in the Roskilde Festival in Denmark, I was lucky enough to find one for The Louvre, one of the standout tracks from Melodrama.

For me, The Louvre is a song about the start of any relationships, and all of the rushes everyone experiences when in love. I opened the video on YouTube, and before she starts singing the song, she told the lucky enthusiastic crowd that the song is about having a crush.

“Roskilde, this is a song about a crush.
Do any of you have a crush on anyone right now?
It’s kind of amazing and it’s kind of hell, right?
If you know what it’s like to have a crush on someone.
Close your eyes and just listen to this for a second.”

And then she starts singing.

The Louvre is about a crush. Now, I understand why I can fully identify with the song, and why I love it so much. I have had a lot of crushes before, and I can say that the song really encapsulates how one feels when you’re with the one you want to spend every moment of your life with. It turns to obsession, and as the relationship grows, that feeling consumes you like you’re in a daze that you’re even willing enough to sacrifice your friendships for your crush.  I mean, that is basically how it starts, having a crush. It’s overwhelming, it’s full of rush.

Speaking of crushes, it’s easy for me to have a crush on someone. Just be kind – hearted, and have a warm personality, I’ll have a crush on you instantly. Kindness is my weakness. Sometimes, when people show kindness to me, I get caught off guard. Kind people are hard to come by these days, and it’s kind of a big deal to me. It also doesn’t help that I always see motive behind the kind acts people do to me. I try not to assume but I get overwhelmed by the acts of kindness that I develop feelings for that kind – hearted someone. It sucks, I know. Then, there’s this warm personality that I often try to find in other people, knowing within myself that I have a cold personality. I also get attracted to people who know how to interact with other people, make them feel at home and welcome, and comfortable in their company. Having a crush is a rollercoaster ride: the highs of those cheesy moments, the lows of those petty arguments, and I’m so glad that The Louvre is there to remind me of those emotions.

The Louvre is an instant classic for me. It deviates itself from the usual pop songs being overplayed in radio right now with basic melodies and exploding choruses you can sing – a – long with. The song is very different than what listeners are used to; it follows Lorde’s style of writing songs with varying structures, and genre – bending instrumentals. It’s one of the poppiest songs on Melodrama but you can’t deny it’s a Lorde song because of its sharp yet relatable lyrics. The Louvre is one of the best songs released in recent years about what it’s like to have a crush on someone. And now that Lorde is growing up and is writing songs that are much more relatable than before, I’m looking forward to her other works of art in the future. And I do hope that that includes songs written and produced in the vein of The Louvre.

Leave a Reply

